Thursday, February 15, 2007

Daughtry's Biggest Fan!

No, it's not me, it's my cousin (in-law), Tara. I'm sure her blog will be MUCH more interesting, but here it is from my perspective.

When you last left me, I had just gotten home from Disneyland at 2a and put in a full day at work. Now, mind you, Tara had already seen Daughtry in San Francisco and FLEW TO PHOENIX (convinced my sister, Yvonne, to come with her) to see him again. Yvonne wasn't feeling well, so we planned to take Rach instead. But, I was pretty sure I was going to bail on her because I was just exhausted. Sooooo, I call her and she....

SCREAMS that "we" had won the "Meet and Greet" for the Daughtry concert! OK, maybe, I'll go. She used me "Mom of 2, doesn't get out much, all she does is play on the computer" sob story to win the tickets. BUT, she got the email too late and the Meet and Greet was during the sound check. I walk in the door, barely have time to change my clothes, and we're off to Tempe (about 40 miles away) to see what they can do for us.

We get there around 7p and Tara works her magic. She got the email late, here it is, what do we get? The concert is at a bar in a strip mall. People had been in line since 7a waiting to get in so they can rush to the stage and be right there. We get to GO IN FIRST before anyone else, that had been waiting in line.....and we get to talk to Chris after the show.

So a little after 8p, we are led in and get to the front of the stage. You can see nose hairs, most likely get "sprayed" by sweat and reach out and touch someone. Oh yeah, we didn't eat dinner and about this time, Rach is hungry. We have two bands before Chris even comes on stage. Sorry, Rach, we're stuck.

An hour later, Rach is really not doing well (I thought she was going down) and I decide that I'll take her to the car after the show and just wait for Tara. Well, Chris was awesome (I got to shake his hand) and it's time to go meet him. Rach asks if we're the only ones who get to go and then she perks right up!

The bouncers tell everyone to go home, he's not coming out, etc. Tara says, "what about us?" Everyone EXCEPT us are to go home.....out comes Chris -- all 5'8" of him, with his quiet, reserved nature. Give hugs, takes pictures, ask how Rachael is (which of course, she answers "FIIINNNEEEE"), and signs Tara's shirt that she bought. BTW, I STILL don't have the pictures to send out, TARA! ETA - here are the photos!

We leave at 11p, get some fast food, and hit the hay around midnight. Not bad for a Mom of 2 who never gets out, huh??

Party of 10

That was the phrase repeated over and over on our trip to Disneyland. Rachael brought a friend and we met up with the Negretes (and Tim's brother, Mike) for a weekend of fun. I guess a Party of 10 is really 5 parties of 2, so we all rode the rides in different pairs. I brought my SeaBands and ventured onto Space Mountain -- I should have done that much sooner!

We had a our usual dinner at Joe's Crab Shack (boy, Rach gave Aub a run for his money with the crab eating!) and then it was off to take John to the airport so he could go to St. Paul (again, what a shocker!) So we spent Sunday in our off kilter Party of 9, but since you all know I don't do the rides, we were back down to an even Party of 8. We finally hit the road at 6:45p to drive back to Phoenix. After the time change, dinner, and a rest stop, we finally fell into bed at 2a on Monday morning. Only to go to the Chris Daughtry (of American Idol fame) concert the next day. Stay tuned for that adventure!

Thursday, February 8, 2007

Sorry Wrong Number

Take one bored child (adjusted day today), add one cell phone, and what do you get?? Crank calling......she even knew to dial *67 to block her number. She called me and I thought it was pretty cute. Disguising her voice, asking what we wanted to order, classic stuff. UNTIL she cranked called "the wrong person"....du du du.....

It would have been ok, except she forgot to block her number. She called and said the same thing she said to me in her "disguised" voice. The male adult asked "excuse me?" and she giggled and hung up.....classic call in my book. Well, he was NOT AMUSED. He called right back, got Rach's voice mail and left a message to the effect, "I suggest that the mother or father of this child that is calling me, call me immediately so I can discuss what this child is doing". OK, whatever. Called again and left a message that he would be calling back after 5p to discuss what has occurred and left his name and phone number. AND.THEN.....

Called a total of 12 times after 5p and hung up each time he got Rach's voice mail.....DUDE, GET.A.LIFE!! So, I give Rach a lecture, she deserves everything she's getting, change her voicemail to the system greeting and turn off her phone, eventually, this guy will get tired, right??

So when I get home, she plays the messages for me....the last one says he will call back again tomorrow, if "the parents" don't call back. Rach had also been getting calls for the person that owned the number before her, so I called T-Mobile to see what we can do make sure that his name is not associated with her number anymore. The rep asks if these calls are harassing. Well, not these calls, but since you ask......I decide to turn the tables, 'cause you see, I need to GET.A.LIFE too!!

So I tell the rep that someone keeps calling her and hanging up and she's getting a little freaked. The rep offers to change her number.....PERFECT! So, Rach has a new number and Mr. Harasser will have to find something else to do tomorrow!

Monday, February 5, 2007

The Perfect Job - Day 1 - A Promotion and a Raise??

Well, after six months, I think I've found the perfect job. Only time will tell, but Day One started off with a promotion and a raise! Since I was offered the job, they reclassified several positions and even though I was hired as and "Administrative Secretary", I got a promotion to a "Management Assistant". Of course, I couldn't help but joke "did I get a raise, too??" Sure did, $.50/hr. Not, bad for a first day, huh??

I had to report at 7a, left the house are 6:20a and got there 20 minutes later, not bad at all. Left at 4:10p and was home at 4:30p. My regular shift will be 8a to 5p, so we'll see how that goes. Had an actual orientation, was introduced to co-workers (what a novel idea!), and actually had someone spend time with me and show me the ropes. Whoda' thunk that they do that kind of thing here in AZ?? Treat a new employee like a new employee, be still my heart!

For those of you still wondering about Rach's travel extravaganza, she made it back home just in time for the kick off of the Superbowl and she's no worse for the wear. She might be ready to go to Hawaii with the Grandparents and her brother this summer, time will tell. Sharon made it back home to the BHood all in one piece and John is at his home away from home (St. Paul). All is right with the world once again. Until next time.....

Friday, February 2, 2007

Unaccompanied Minors 2

For those of you that aren't familiar with the movie, it takes place in a Chicago airport that has cancelled all flights because of weather during the Christmas Holiday and a band of kids is left to run wild in the airport.

Well, that not EXACTLY what happened as Rachael and her BFF, Sydni, prepared to fly to Sacramento last night to go to Lake Tahoe with Yvonne for a weekend of birthday snowboarding.....

I should mention that up until about a month ago, Rachael REFUSED to fly anywhere without an adult -- turned down a trip to Hawaii with the grandparents because she and Aubrey would have to fly to LA by themselves. After this, she's ready to fly ANYWHERE!!

You know me, I had everything all organized, copies of birth certificates, medical cards, authorization forms, itinerary, EVERYTHING. See, I had checked out the website as soon as Yvonne had made the flight arrangements. She forwarded me the Unaccompanied Minors Policy. On the Southwest website there is a link to click for the form to fill out. It is a .pdf form and has the word "SAMPLE" watermarked across it. I call the Customer Service center and ask if there is a form that I need to fill out once I get to the airport or if I can use the one on the web. She says to go ahead and fill out the one on the web. I asked her even though it says "SAMPLE" and she said, "sure, no problem".

So, yesterday, we are all ready to go........

2:00PM -- I leave my office (having worked through lunch all week so I can make up the time).

2:30PM -- Reach home, gather all the girls' luggage, pick up a bit and head out the door to pick them up from school.

3:00PM -- Pick them up from school and head to the airport -- Flight departs at 5:15PM

3:37PM -- Arrive at parking garage and head into Terminal 4 for Southwest Airlines

3:50PM -- Check in bags at the wrong counter and are walked over to the counter for Unaccompanied Minors. The agent tells me I need to fill out the "UM" form. I hand him what I had from the web and he compares to two and says it has the same information so that works. He then takes the form I filled out and uses a red Sharpie and write their flight #, how many carry ons, how many bags, etc. they have. He then asked for their Boarding Passes (that I had printed out in the morning). I said I gave him everything. So, he finds them, folds them up and tells the girls to put their UM forms and Boarding Passes on their lanyard holder. Tells me to go to Gate B7 which is, "unfortunately all the way on the other side of the airport". His exact words. OK, no problem we still have plenty of time.

4:11PM -- Pay for dinner for the girls and sit down to eat.

4:30PM -- Start walking to Gate B7.

4:40PM -- Get to Gate B7 and realize it is US Airways. Asked someone where Southwest is and he tells us to go to the "other side of the terminal" (where we checked in -- go figure!!) and check the kiosk. Starting to panic now, the flight leaves in 30 minutes!! Run to the kiosk and see that it is Gate "D"7!! OK, I'll even cop to the fact that that he may have said "D" BUT he also said that it was on the other side of the airport.

Run through the airport and got through Security AGAIN. By this time they are announcing last call for passengers McCown and Smack. I ask the TSA rep if he can call Southwest and let them know that we are in the line for Security and he asks me if I have their phone number!! WHAT.EV.ER!! Back in line again!

RUN to Gate D7 - the girls get to the check-in counter before me and I hear the rep asking where Mom is.

5:00PM -- Get to the check-in counter and the whole flight has boarded -- they are holding the plane for the girls -- 15 minutes before takeoff. The check-in counter looks at everything and tells us to go to the gate. The Gate person tells me "Don't leave, Mom, we have to make sure everything is in order." HE looks at everything (for those of you keeping count):

1. Customer Service Agent -- Yes, you can use the form off the web
2. First Ticket Agent -- Checked their reservation -- walks me over to the UM area
3. Second Ticket Agent -- Checks form, Birth Certificates, Boarding Passes - tells us to go to wrong gate.
4. Check-In Rep looks everything over, tells us to go to the Gate.

5. Gate attendant looks at everything and escorts them onto the plane.

5:05PM -- Girls are on the plane, I walk back to my car -- which, incidentally is right where the Gate is because I parked in the SOUTHWEST terminal!

5:10PM -- Rachael calls (I think to tell me she's all settled and she loves me). But NO, I HAVE TO COME BACK BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE THE RIGHT FORMS!!!!!!!!!!

5:15 PM -- RUN back through Security to the Gate and am told by yet another person that I haven't filled out the proper form. The first thing I ask if if they are holding the plane -- nope, already gone -- probably at least 2-3 minutes BEFORE scheduled take-off -- they couldn't wait???!!??

Omar explains the whole process to me CORRECTLY, I might add. Here's the reason for the form, 3-parts, blah, blah, blah. Also, DON'T LEAVE UNTIL THE PLANE IS IN THE AIR. OK, first time I heard that one! It was the Flight Attendant that told the girls they didn't have the correct forms. Omar also explained that their Boarding Passes should have been reprinted with UM on them ALONG WITH THE CORRECT GATE #.

Again for those of you keeping track -- Second ticket agent completed FUBARed the entire process:

1. Wrong Form
2. Didn't reprint Boarding Pass
3. Didn't check them in as UMs.
4. Told us the wrong gate

6:00PM -- Got to Gate D6 to get on another flight via San Diego (but was told Ontario -- don't get me started on that one as to why Yvonne was at the Gate for an Ontario arrival). And from that point on, EVERYTHING WAS DONE RIGHT! The check-in attendant told me not to leave until the plane was off the ground. The Gate attendant came over to us and met the girls and looked at their proper form and then led them to the Pre-Board area. The flight attendants introduced themselves and led them onto the plane. I was AGAIN told by the Gate attendant to not leave until the plane has left the ground and to check with the check-in rep, just to make sure.

6:15PM -- Final call for flight which was scheduled to leave at 6:15.

6:30PM -- Plane taxis down runway and takes off -- to arrive in Sacramento TWO HOURS LATER THEN THEIR ORIGINAL FLIGHT! Yvonne is PI$$ED!!

6:31PM -- Check with attendant -- flight is "officially off the ground" and I have permission to leave the terminal.

7:20PM -- Rachael calls from San Diego (OK, they said Ontario, but whatever -- forgot to call Yvonne with new info -- WHOOPS!) -- BTW, I'm not even home yet!

7:25PM -- Call Aubrey and tell him to put a bottle of wine in the fridge for me!

7:45PM -- Get home, call John, wait for Rach to land and call me.

9:45PM -- Rach calls, now for the two hour drive to Tahoe -- Everyone is where they should be.

9:46PM -- Fall into bed, exhausted from the stress (and probably jogging through the airport!)

Hopefully, their flight back will be completely uneventful. Spoke to the Customer Service Manager at Southwest and we WILL be compensated -- $200 Travel Voucher -- no questions asked!

Until the next "trauma"........

Too Many Words

I decided to start this Blog because I am forever repeating the "drama" that is my life to people in my life. I then resorted to emails, but I thought that I was using "too many words"......so here it is, take what you like and delete the rest!

So, as you all know we moved to AZ in July (not the smartest thing to do, but when work calls, John follows!) We are settling in and besides for the:

1. Car accident in August when we visited CA

2. Going on my THIRD job since we've been here -- sure to be blogged in the next week or so, my first day is Monday, 2/5.

3. Rachael flying "solo" to CA to visit Yvonne (this will be the first post -- no more emails!)

Life is relatively calm -- LOL!!!!

The kids have a few really good friends -- we have met a really nice couple that go to our church as well and we are having our annual Superbowl party this Sunday. You all would be proud of me -- there are about the same number of invitees from AZ as are from CA! YEAH, I'm getting there!

We have our annual Disneyland trip for Rachie's Birthday coming up, a visit to CA in April for winetasting and then a visit to CA in July for Shannon's wedding. Check back for exciting details of those events as well!

OK off to blog about the Southwest Airlines trauma of yesterday!